Raspberry Macaron Disaster

Ok guys – this week’s batch of macarons were an absolute disaster. But I guess that is what I get for going all rogue.

I decided to try to make this raspberry filling and color the macarons “naturally” using the raspberry juice.

To break down the raspberries, I threw 12 oz fresh raspberries, 1 tablespoon sugar, and about ¾ cup of water into a small saucepan. I started cooking on medium low heat to break them down, then turned it up to a boil and reduced to simmer, which I’m now convinced was completely pointless. After straining the juice I put half back into the saucepan, added 2 tbs cornstarch, and cooked on low heat until thickened. I should have added more sugar at this point because holy moly was that stuff tart! bleck, not pleasant at all.


For the macarons I decided to improvise – which was a baaaaad idea. I tried equal parts of almond meal and powdered sugar since my last macarons were a little on the dry side. I also turned the oven down to 280 degrees this time, thinking that 300 may have been a little too warm and that’s why the horrible cracking occurred.

I used the same technique as last time, but this time I added about a quarter cup (I eyeball’d it) of the raspberry juice to the egg white, sugar mixture. Big oops on my part. The batter was waaaay too runny. They would pipe out well and even sit there. They didn’t ooze around or spread out into flat pancakes, so I thought “hey this might just work”. Yea, it didn’t.

They wouldn’t cook! After 20 minutes I took them out. They were completely stuck to the parchment paper. When i managed to rip one off, the insides were cooked somewhat but the outside was not at all cooked. No crust. No feet. Just tears on my part.

So into the garbage they went after my hubby scraped a few off and tried to eat them. “YOU CAN’T WASTE THESE.. they still taste good”

I will spare you the recipe since it was an absolute disaster. I will provide you with the ingredient ratio – I’m going to tweak it and try again this week! I won’t give up on my hopes for a raspberry macaron!!!

Raspberry Macaron Disaster!

1 cup almond meal
1 cup powdered sugar
3 egg whites
¼ cup granulated sugar
¼ cup raspberry juice

One thought on “Raspberry Macaron Disaster

  1. Hello! I just read your disaster – I had an experience very similar to this on my very first macaron attempt. Can I give you some tips? Macarons are nearly like a science, so you need to be very exact with your measurements – every recipe I have come across for macarons has used weight measurements as opposed to cup measurements. The same applies to your egg whites. Eggs come in different sizes so while it’s a bit more time consuming, it’s a good idea to weigh those out as well.
    By the looks of it you are also using the French macaron method – this is what I tried on my first attempt and failed miserably. Since then I have used the Italian meringue method with involves making a sugar syrup. I’ve tried this way about 6 times and every single time, I have achieved near perfect macarons. If you’re just starting out on making macarons, I’m told that this is the easiest method to grasp (and Pierre Herme uses this method in his Macarons recipe book!), the macarons also stay fresher longer using this way. This is my latest attempt at making macarons http://bitsnbooks.wordpress.com/2012/10/03/red-velvet-macarons/ so you can see what the Italian method involves. I think it takes a bit longer, but it’s good practice and then you can work your way up to the French method.
    Also, if you want to make a raspberry macaron, I would recommend making a raspberry ganache. I can’t remember the exact ratios, but you need white cooking chocolate, pouring cream and raspberry puree (which you make by blitzing up some raspberries in a food processor). I made a blueberry ganache recently this way and it was DELICIOUS!!!! If you’re interested, I’ll find my recipe and post it on here for you.
    Good luck with the baking! 🙂

Comment